New York Cabbie Stabbed When Passenger asked Are You a Muslim

A New York cab driver was stabbed when a Fare asked ” Are you a Muslim.” Ahmed Sharif, 43 had picked his passenger  who question him then Sharif was attacked.

From WCBS-TV/HDTV “CBS 2 News”:

Sharif, 43, displayed his wounds with sorrow on Wednesday night: a deep gash on his forearm, a defensive wound on his hand, and slashes to his neck and upper lip — the handiwork, police said, of a passenger who savaged the immigrant cabbie in what appears to have been an explosion of anti-Muslim violence in the close confines of his New York City taxi.

“I’m driving. He asked me where I’m from. I said Bangladesh. Second question he ask me, are you Muslim? I said yes. Then he tells me ‘assalamu alaikum,’” Sharif said.

The incident took place around 6P.M. in Midtown Manhattan:

The attack happened around 6:15 p.m. Tuesday in a busy commercial area on 40th Street and Third Avenue. The passenger, police said, was 21-year-old Michael Enright, an honor student from Putnam County who has spent time overseas in Afghanistan working as a reporter.  Sharif said the young man began ridiculing the Muslim holiday of Ramadan and then started a bizarre, belligerent rant.

“This is checkpoint [expletive]. I have to put you down. You have to bring Abdullah to this checkpoint, I have to bring him down, too,” Sharif said.

He said Enright lunged through the cab partition with a knife, and the men struggled as the cab rolled for a block and a half.

“The knife came here and when he knife like this by his right hand then I back up like this, then it come here,” Sharif said, showing the wound on his arm.

Enright was arrested at the scene and charged with attempted murder as a hate crime. His father had nothing to say as he rushed to his son’s arraignment on Wednesday afternoon.

Mayor Bloomberg expressed his anger at Enright:

“This attack runs counter to everything that New Yorkers believe no matter what god we pray to,” Mayor Bloomberg said in a statement.

Word on Sharif’s attack spred like wildfire in New York area Muslim communities:

News of the attack has swept through the Muslim community like a shockwave. People were gathered outside Sharif’s Queens home on Wednesday night denouncing the incident as un-American.

“America is about freedom of religion and freedom of speech. You cannot hate, just hate me because I am Muslim. I didn’t do anything to you. What did I do?” a man named “Abdullah” said.

Inside, the victim, despite his injuries, continued to espouse his belief in the American dream.

“I work hard. I try to support my family and I believe in this country if you work hard and you’re honest, you’re good, you can have anything you want,” Sharif said.

“CBS 2 NEWS” has the rest of the story

Leave a Reply

